Research Building OPTICUM

OPTICUM – Optics University Center and Campus

Leibniz University's new research building becomes optics centre in Hannover

© HENN

Around 54 million euros for a research building with numerous large-scale devices, test halls and laboratories for the various disciplines of optical technologies: The OPTICUM is being built in the north of Hannover.

At a Glance

  • Location:
    Hanover-Marienwerder Science Park
  • 54.2 million € in construction financing
  • Workplaces for 117 people
  • approx. 4,000 m² usable floor space,
    approx. 8,000 m² total area
  • Start of construction: 2023
  • Planned completion: 2026

Smartphone cameras, online streaming via optical fibre, laser welding of car bodies and 3D imaging in medicine: optical technologies make our digital everyday life possible. Scientists of the Cluster of Excellence "PhoenixD: Photonics, Optics, and Engineering - Innovation across Disciplines" at Leibniz University Hannover (LUH) are working to develop the performance of these key technologies. In future, 117 researchers from the disciplines of physics, mechanical engineering, electrical engineering, mathematics, computer science and chemistry will work together under one roof on the precision optics of the future.

The OPTICUMS will be managed by the Leibniz Research School for Optics & Photonics (LSO), which was founded in spring 2020. It is closely linked to the Cluster of Excellence PhoenixD and is equivalent to a faculty in terms of its structure.

"Our OPTICUM will be the research building for all scientists from the six different disciplines working together on the digitalisation of optics research and optics production“
Prof. Dr. Uwe Morgner, Spokesperson of the Board of the Cluster of Excellence PhoenixD

Research building to be constructed in the north of Hannover

The OPTICUM is to be built in the Hannover-Marienwerder Science Park. The location on Pascalstraße will be easily accessible via its own tram stop. The planned four-storey building of the OPTICUM will have a usable floor space of a good 4,000 square metres. Construction is scheduled to begin in 2023. Completion is planned for 2026.

Research building enables construction of a networked production platform

Together with project partners from the TU Braunschweig and the Laser Zentrum Hannover e. V., LUH optics researchers are investigating how complex optical systems can be realised in a short development time using modern manufacturing processes - for example 3D printing - for a fraction of today's price.

The desired paradigm shift in optics production is made possible by two trends: more powerful data processing and improved (additive) manufacturing methods. This enables the scientists to realise a digitally and physically networked production platform for optical components and systems. This requires not only measurement and production technology and a lot of computing power, but also the development of algorithms and new types of optical composite materials consisting of glass and plastic, among other things. With the production platform planned for the future research building, the quality of the optics can not only be checked during ongoing production, but production defects can also be corrected in real time.

The new research building will then have enough offices, laboratories and test halls to assemble the fully networked production platform in one place and work on it together, interdisciplinary.

Science Council recommends construction of the research building "OPTICUM - Optics University Center and Campus"

Funding and architects

The research building is funded by the state of Lower Saxony and, after a successful evaluation by the Science Council (in accordance with Article 91b, Paragraph 1, Sentence 1 of the Basic Law), by the federal government.

The implementation is carried out through close cooperation with the general planner HENN Architekten Berlin.

YOUR CONTACT TO THE PHOENIXD OFFICE

Non-public person
Non-public person

Forschungsbau OPTICUM

OPTICUM – Optics University Center and Campus

Der neue Forschungsbau der Leibniz Universität wird Optikzentrum in Hannover

© HENN

Rund 54 Millionen Euro für einen Forschungsbau mit zahlreichen Großgeräten, Versuchshallen und Laboren für die verschiedenen Disziplinen der optischen Technologien: In Hannovers Norden entsteht das OPTICUM.

Auf einen Blick

  • Standort: Wissenschaftspark Hannover-Marienwerder
  • 54,2 Millionen Euro Baufinanzierung
  • Arbeitsplätze für 117 Personen
  • etwa 4.000 m² Nutzfläche,
    ca. 8.000 m² Gesamtfläche
  • Baubeginn: 2023
  • Geplante Fertigstellung: 2026

Smartphone-Kameras, Online-Streaming per optischer Glasfaser, Laserschweißen von Autokarosserien und 3D-Abbildungen in der Medizin: Optische Technologien machen unseren digitalen Alltag erst möglich. Wissenschaftlerinnen und Wissenschaftler des Exzellenzclusters „PhoenixD: Photonics, Optics, and Engineering – Innovation across Disciplines“ an der Leibniz Universität Hannover (LUH) arbeiten daran, die Leistungsfähigkeit dieser Schlüsseltechnologien weiterzuentwickeln. Künftig werden 117 Forschende aus den Fachgebieten Physik, Maschinenbau, Elektrotechnik, Mathematik, Informatik und Chemie gemeinsam unter einem Dach an der Präzisionsoptik der Zukunft arbeiten.

Die Leitung des OPTICUMS übernimmt die im Frühjahr 2020 gegründete Leibniz-Forschungsschule für Optik & Photonik (LSO). Sie ist eng mit dem Exzellenzcluster PhoenixD verknüpft und in ihrer Struktur einer Fakultät gleichgestellt.

„Unser OPTICUM wird das Forschungsgebäude für alle Wissenschaftlerinnen und Wissenschaftler der sechs verschiedenen Disziplinen sein, die gemeinsam an der Digitalisierung der Optikforschung und Optikproduktion arbeiten“
Prof. Dr. Uwe Morgner, Vorstandssprecher des Exzellenzclusters PhoenixD

Forschungsbau entsteht im Norden Hannovers

Das OPTICUM soll im Wissenschaftspark Hannover-Marienwerder errichtet werden. Der Standort an der Pascalstraße wird über eine eigene Stadtbahnhaltestelle gut erreichbar sein. Der geplante, vierstöckige Bau des OPTICUMS verfügt über eine Nutzfläche von gut 4.000 Quadratmetern. Mit dem Bau soll 2023 begonnen werden. Die Fertigstellung ist für das Jahr 2026 geplant.

Forschungsbau ermöglicht Aufbau einer vernetzten Produktionsplattform

Die Optikforscherinnen und -forscher der LUH untersuchen zusammen mit Projektpartnern der TU Braunschweig und des Laser Zentrum Hannover e. V., wie komplexe Optiksysteme durch moderne Fertigungsverfahren – beispielsweise den 3D-Druck – für einen Bruchteil des heutigen Preises in einer kurzen Entwicklungszeit realisiert werden können.

Ermöglicht wird der angestrebte Paradigmenwechsel in der Optikproduktion durch zwei Trends: leistungsstärkere Datenverarbeitung und verbesserte (additive) Fertigungsmethoden.
Dadurch können die Wissenschaftlerinnen und Wissenschaftler eine digital und physikalisch vernetzte Produktions-Plattform für optische Bauteile und Systeme realisieren. Dafür sind nicht nur Mess- und Produktionstechnik und viel Rechenleistung nötig, sondern auch die Entwicklung von Algorithmen sowie neuartiger optischer Verbundmaterialien bestehend u.a. aus Glas und Kunststoff. Mit der im künftigen Forschungsbau geplanten Produktions-Plattform kann die Qualität der Optiken während der laufenden Fertigung nicht nur kontrolliert, sondern es können Fertigungsmängel in Echtzeit korrigiert werden.

Im neuen Forschungsbau stehen dann ausreichend Büros, Labore und Versuchshallen bereit, um die vollständig vernetzte Produktionsplattform an einem Ort zusammenzusetzen und daran gemeinsam, interdisziplinär zu arbeiten.

Wissenschaftsrat empfiehlt Bau des Forschungsgebäudes „OPTICUM – Optics University Center and Campus“

Förderung und Architekten

Der Forschungsbau wird vom Land Niedersachsen und nach einer erfolgreichen Evaluation durch den Wissenschaftsrat (nach Artikel 91b Abs. 1 Satz 1 des Grundgesetzes) durch den Bund gefördert.

Die Umsetzung erfolgt durch enge Zusammenarbeit mit dem Generalplaner HENN Architekten Berlin.

IHR KONTAKT ZUR PHOENIXD-GESCHÄFTSSTELLE

Dr. Sebastian Dikty
Geschäftsführung
Adresse
Welfengarten 1A
30167 Hannover
Gebäude
Raum
118
Dr. Sebastian Dikty
Geschäftsführung
Adresse
Welfengarten 1A
30167 Hannover
Gebäude
Raum
118
Dipl.-Ing. Stefanie Schirmbeck
Beauftragte
Building Officer
Adresse
Welfengarten 1A
30167 Hannover
Gebäude
Raum
122
Dipl.-Ing. Stefanie Schirmbeck
Beauftragte
Building Officer
Adresse
Welfengarten 1A
30167 Hannover
Gebäude
Raum
122